Patton Kizzire hasn’t gotten a replacement driver in Northern Trust rules dispute

Patton Kizzire teeed off on the 7th hole of the Northern Trust’s final round at Liberty National when something very unexpected happened.

As he was completing his swing, the Kizzire driver broke on his back, raising questions as to whether he was entitled to a replacement club.

The rules of golf state that the driver can be replaced if the original one has been broken by outside influence or natural force. However, a replacement is not granted if it is broken due to anger.

The world No. 115 said he did not break the club in anger and that was certainly not his intention when he hit his wayward tee shot from the par-4 from 474 yards.

“I was a little frustrated, but I didn’t feel like I was putting enough pressure on it to break it,” Kizzire said.

The 35-year-old was preparing to use a replacement driver on the 10th hole after speaking to a rules official, but his playing partner Jordan Spieth raised questions whether the driver had been broken by outside influence.

During his second conversation with the rules officer, Kizzire was informed that he would not be allowed to replace his driver with another. It was judged that he had applied enough force out of frustration on the shaft and that is why it broke.

Kizzire finished tied for 56th at the Northern Trust, which was enough to see him qualify for the BMW Championship in 66th place in the FedEx Cup standings.

The two-time PGA Tour winner appears to have been treated a bit harshly, especially after it looked like he would be given a replacement driver following his initial conversation with the rules officer.